artsoft.org & Quicktime?

Anything R'n'D unrelated.

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

artsoft.org & Quicktime?

Post by Davacardo » Sun Aug 17, 2008 1:51 am

I noticed today that whenever I visited any page on artsoft.org (except the forums), Spybot tells me Quicktime is trying to add itself to my startup registry entries!

Is Quicktime necessary for the pages or something? If not, I was just wondering why it's there, and if it could possibly be removed...

User avatar
Forty-niner
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:56 pm

Post by Forty-niner » Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:57 am

Well, I have Spybot and it says nothing. That's all I can say about this...

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:01 pm

I don't think QuickTime is needed for anything on this web site.

On Windows, installations of the QuickTime web browser plug-in seem to place a startup program in the registry called "QuickTime Task" that runs '"C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime.' This is normal and does not indicate a problem.
[more information about qttask.exe]

What web browser are you using to view http://www.artsoft.org? Does QuickTime still try to add itself to the registry if JavaScript is disabled?

User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Davacardo » Mon Aug 18, 2008 11:40 pm

Yep, qttask.exe was the thing being placed in the registry. I know it's normal, but the less stuff being run on startup, the better.

Web browser is IE 7. Not sure about Javascript, cause I'm not using the computer in question right now, but I'll check later. It's interesting cause I've never seen it pop up before on a website, and everytime I went to an artsoft page or refreshed it, I'd get another warning.

I don't get any warnings on my laptop (which I'm using now), but that's probably cause I don't have QuickTime installed on it.

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3231
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:07 pm

> I don't think QuickTime is needed for anything on this web site.

Right -- you don't need any special plug-in or extension to view the (very plain old HTML) artsoft site.

Post Reply