[3.2.2 release] Main menu GUI not being destroyed properly

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
GreaseMonkey
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:36 am

[3.2.2 release] Main menu GUI not being destroyed properly

Post by GreaseMonkey » Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:24 am

When I go into the editor and then either click on the "INFO" or "?" buttons (before testing), I can click where any of the two level-selection arrows from the main menu are, this happens:
Image
Yep, the level-selection arrows and a preview appears from the main menu.

This might help:

screens.c, lines 707-714:

Code: Select all

      else if (y == 3)
      {
	if (leveldir_current->readonly &&
	    !strEqual(setup.player_name, "Artsoft"))
	  Request("This level is read only !", REQ_CONFIRM);
	game_status = GAME_MODE_EDITOR;
	DrawLevelEd();
      }
void DrawLevelEd() is found at editor.c, line 6721

unsigned int CloseDoor(unsigned int door_state) is found at tools.c, line 2610

void StartGameActions(boolean init_network_game, boolean record_tape, long random_seed) is found at game.c, line 9015

void InitGame() is found at game.c, line 1816

static void InitGameEngine() is found at game.c, line 1370 - I think this contains some code that may fix this bug. If that's not the case, then you'll need to cook up some code.
Got user-defined elements? I do! :D

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:27 pm

Many welcomes to the forum, GreaseMonkey!

This bug is already known and has been fixed, but the new version with this bug fixed is not released yet. I hope it will be out very soon.

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:36 pm

Thanks anyway for the fix in the code, though. :)

Tomi
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Tomi » Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:59 pm

Code: Select all

!strEqual(setup.player_name, "Artsoft")
Why nobody told me?! :-)

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:33 pm

Tomi wrote:

Code: Select all

!strEqual(setup.player_name, "Artsoft")
Why nobody told me?! :-)
I definetly agree. Although I probably won't use that "cheat". I don't feel any need to edit read-only levels.

HerzAusGold
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Germany

Post by HerzAusGold » Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:10 pm

Hm, maybe this cheat worked in older version, but in the latest - I believe - it dont work.
And the answer is ... 42 !

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:44 pm

HerzAusGold wrote:Hm, maybe this cheat worked in older version, but in the latest - I believe - it dont work.
:shock: You're right! I can't get it to work in 3.2.2! That's strange! I thought at first it was because of case-sensitivity, so I checked the case and I still don't know why it doesn't work.

Anyways, thanks GreaseMonkey for making us see that little code, all that's left is to find out why it doesn't work ;)

user
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by user » Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:25 pm

Zomis wrote:I don't feel any need to edit read-only levels.
maybe 'shadowing' editable (eg. unsolvable) level copy in user tree isn't bad idea? for network playing can be used hash to verify (better hash of preprocessed level - not identical !== multiplayer-unplayable), or even post level to opponent(s), store it then (temporary) in special dir...
i know, complications... but better user experience. ;)

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3332
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:16 pm

> Why nobody told me?!

Well... It's a cheat. ;-)

It already exists in the very first version 0.9 of R'n'D, released in 1995... :-)

> > Hm, maybe this cheat worked in older version, but in the latest - I
> > believe - it dont work.
> You're right! I can't get it to work in 3.2.2! That's strange!

Strange indeed -- it works fine for me with 3.2.2. (Hint: You really have to write "Artsoft", not "artsoft"!)

> maybe 'shadowing' editable (eg. unsolvable) level copy in user tree isn't
> bad idea? for network playing can be used hash to verify (better hash of
> preprocessed level - not identical !== multiplayer-unplayable), or even
> post level to opponent(s), store it then (temporary) in special dir...

Very good ideas!

user
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by user » Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:49 pm

Holger wrote:Very good ideas!
Thanks :)
another... option (or reuse handicap) for netwok playing to allow subsequent players choosing next level, usefull esp. with mentioned level sharing, to avoid unnecessary file transfer and duplication cache level hashes

Post Reply