preview screen does not support a new EMC wall

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

preview screen does not support a new EMC wall

Post by Martijn » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:06 pm

Accidentally I saw this when I was creating a level...

As you know, there are many new EMC objects available in the level editor. Of the normal walls (from the EMC objects), there is one wall that consists of two parts. Put one of these parts (or both of course) in your level and go to the main menu where you can see the preview. It displays the place of the normal wall as empty!

(As if this matters... :D )
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3340
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:19 pm

> Of the normal walls (from the EMC objects), there is one wall that
> consists of two parts. Put one of these parts (or both of course) in your
> level and go to the main menu where you can see the preview. It displays
> the place of the normal wall as empty!

Yes, I know. This is because of the simple downscaling algorithm that is used to create the preview graphics -- it just only takes every n-th pixel from the original to build the preview graphic. The graphics for the element you mentioned just by chance has only black pixels, so the resulting preview graphic is totally black for this element.

I've just fixed this by using a simple interpolation of all pixels. This will cause preview graphics (and also editor graphics) to look more like the original (but will also result in slightly "blurred" graphics when they looked a bit "sharper" before, but the overall result should be better now).

Soon to be seen in 3.2.1. ... :-)

Post Reply