Colour cycling

All about creating levels and level sets, custom elements and custom artwork.

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Colour cycling

Post by Alan » Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:33 pm

It's silly demo time again! :D

A bit of an odd duel purpose one this.......don't ask!

http://www.ambience.2restinpeace.com/colour_cycle.zip

Use the big brush with medium speed (yellow) for best results!

*EDIT*

Oh and it only works in 3.2.0-6

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:09 pm

WOW!! This one is really sick!! :-D And a lot of fun indeed! :-)

Really surprising what can be done with CEs!!! :-O

asiekierka
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:18 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

WOW!

Post by asiekierka » Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:27 am

It's COOL COOL COOL COOL COOL!

15/10 points :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

Do more cycling and 2 new desktop applications! :D

Proably you can't do Start menu, yeah?
GraphicsPack project: 90%
IconXT project: 100% (version final is ready)

Tomi
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Tomi » Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:41 am

When I press the Start button, I explode! Is this OK? (It's just very precise Windows simulator?)

*EDIT* But it's *very* *cool* anyway and this seems to be just small bug.

asiekierka
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:18 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

...

Post by asiekierka » Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:17 am

No, Alan setup a default limit of 100 seconds,
To repair it:
rename RocksDoor.pcx to _RocksDoor.pcx in Colour Cycle graphics.
Go to level editor, info and change time limit to 0.
rename _RocksDoor.pcx from Colour Cycle graphics to RocksDoor.pcx
and... play!
GraphicsPack project: 90%
IconXT project: 100% (version final is ready)

Tomi
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Tomi » Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:34 pm

It seems that the Start button bug doesn't have anything with time limit, because it always happens when I'm pointing at Start button for a while - even just after beginning of level.

*EDIT* - yes, this definitely can't be bug - look at ce140! Strange...

asiekierka
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:18 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

...

Post by asiekierka » Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:19 pm

Yeah, i repair that bug with deleting the 1st change of CE128 (which be on level) :D
GraphicsPack project: 90%
IconXT project: 100% (version final is ready)

User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Post by Martijn » Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:52 pm

Cool, Alan! Especially the Flashlight! Why didn't you create this a few months ago? I needed it for BD Dream, but couldn't make it! :wink:
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!

User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan » Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:43 pm

:-)


It's not a bug, you're supposed to die if you hovver over the start for a second ;-) . I was going to do the blue-screen-of-death instead, but I gave up as it was getting silly! Even thought about making a start menu!

Anyone want to make a Linux version?
Why didn't you create this a few months ago?
Confedit has taken months to do, and all that time I haven't looked at any new 3.2.0 features, but now I have lots of new toys to play with :-)

Tomi
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Tomi » Thu Jan 19, 2006 9:23 am

This really used some very interesting techniques, like using the wind or hiding the cursor. I thought the notepad&explorer was made with something gameinside-like, and after all it's the most simple thing in the world... Well it's very cool! Almost as good as Defender...

> I was going to do the blue-screen-of-death
It shouldn't be too hard... what about this: change whole desktop into blue background and then do it the same way as notepad. Then kill the player. Unfortunately, with this solution the message disappears when you press a key...

User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan » Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:32 am

Yeah about the wind......

I now realise that I didn't need to use balloon swiches, since any CE can
set the wind. I could of used walkable over CEs!

Doh! :wink:

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:48 pm

Do I sense RND to become the new operating system? ;) :P
Very nice Alan, truly increadible :) Sorry I haven't posted here before, just haven't been home with RND.. and when I finally went home I forgot about this thread at first...

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:10 am

Daniel was asking if this still works with 3.2.0-8. (No idea why his post has disappeared now...)

The answer is no. This is partial due to a real, fat, nasty bug in 3.2.0-8, and partial due to the use of a level file chunk that did only exist in a few pre-release versions.

I have just fixed that bug, and also added enough compatibility support code to make that cool demo work again in the final 3.2.0! :-)

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:34 am

Holger wrote:No idea why his post has disappeared now...
I deleted it. :shock: Well, I saw that it clearly worked better when I went back to 3.2.0-6 (probably 3.2.0-7 would have worked just as well),

Holger wrote:I have just fixed that bug, and also added enough compatibility support code to make that cool demo work again in the final 3.2.0!
Hooray! :D So does that mean that unless you change something more, all levels made with the past pre-release versions will work in 3.2.0?

This is a little bit off topic...
but Holger, do you have "Smilies" (emoticons) disabled all the time?

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Sun Jun 04, 2006 10:20 am

> So does that mean that unless you change something more, all levels
> made with the past pre-release versions will work in 3.2.0?

Most probably yes -- most levels only used special player settings in that temporary level file chunk, which will now work again (like Darkon's "Step Puzzles" with slow player speed, which will now also work again correctly). If you used other elements with nin-default settings, they will not work as expected. If you find some, tell me and I'll reactivate also support for these elements. I just don't want to add more compatibility code than needed.

> This is a little bit off topic...
> but Holger, do you have "Smilies" (emoticons) disabled all the time?

Yes, right. It's an old habit. If you have ever tried Mozilla Mail with default settings, you know why (the graphical smilies are really ugly there). The phpBB smilies aren't ugly, but really nice in fact, but I encountered cases where some text was replaced by smilies unexpectedly, so I now always disable them... :-)

Post Reply