I don't agree: this sort of prompt seems like an expectable occurrence when doing an app install. More predictable, less surprising, than to receive the same sort of security prompt not at install time, but at first subsequent run of the installed app (which in some cases may be weeks later).Holger wrote: ↑Fri Oct 23, 2026 2:34 pm Even if Mac software has an installer (which it sometimes have, if it has a lot of things to do to set things up before running), this would result in the installer asking to access the "Documents" directory if it wants to check something there, so this does not help here.
This plan embeds two assumptions which I think will cause problems. First, it assumes that people who would need to do anything about this keep their RnD constantly updated; that they can be faithfully expected to update to this specific release without skipping over it. In fact people update sporadically, many will skip a particular release, many will skip way beyond that release and never see the release note either. Their fault? Sure, but since the software can deal properly with it, it should.With the next non-patch release, I will stop doing that check, but add some advice to the announcement of that version what to do when still having user data at the old location. This will be as easy as moving everything from the old location (well-accessible inside the "Documents" directory) to the new location (also well-accessible through the info screen, which opens the new location).
Second, it assumes that when someone discovers the need to migrate their RnD data, they won't already have started using the new version. With the proposed arrangement, some users will discover it years later -- 'HEY! suddenly noticed I have two RnD data directories with two sets of own-levels, with the same numbers, different contents'. Merging that is somewhat advanced surgery for the average user...
Strongly recommend you have the binary always check the situation, forevermore. This means the first run by any user will prompt to look in Documents; subsequent runs won't because the new data dir will show that it was already done. And again, I (less strongly) recommend somewhat mitigating this by having the installer check and leave behind the 'already migrated' note, for the person running the install only. Given the Mac's mostly-single-user nature, that moves almost all such interactions into the more expectable 'at install time' category; yet without leaving any gaps.
Finally, IF the single prompt at install time would be enough to cover inspection of all system users, not just the person running the install, then you might as well do that. Not necessary to subsequently create RnD data dirs for each user: create (migrate) for those users who do have an old data dir; make a list of checked users in global RnD data, naming those who do not therefore don't need to be checked (and prompted) on their first runs.
That does leave a pinhole where e.g. secondary user restores a backup / copies from another machine, into their Documents dir, and subsequently doesn't get migrated. But that requires some effort on the user's part. Here, a 'check for and migrate old data dir' button in the UI would be helpful; but feels more like a 'stretch goal' :)