split screen

Got a cool idea that should be in R'n'D? Let's hear it!

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

Post Reply
User avatar
Venatir
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:07 am

split screen

Post by Venatir »

SPLIT SCREEEN!
Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis »

This is an old bug, and I'm afraid that it won't be real for a long time. Until later, use the keys F5-F9 to switch player view. But for many players at the same time on different screens, you'll have to wait - or make some code for it yourself ;)
Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. »

I don't think that this is a bug; I think that it is just a feature that has not been implemented yet. :?
User avatar
RAP
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by RAP »

I think I suggested that idea before... (I think...) :)
Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis »

Daniel H. wrote:I don't think that this is a bug; I think that it is just a feature that has not been implemented yet. :?
Oh, of course I meant "idea". Sorry about that :oops:
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3392
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger »

Yes, multi-player with split screen would be a real cool feature! :-)

Not sure how much work it would be to add this, though...

But it would definitely be cool! :)
User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan »

Wouldn't the players still be in the same area like they are now? Do the players have to be stuck in the same screen or has it changed since I made Netwars? (This is why it failed)
Not sure how much work it would be to add this, though...
Well, utilising the full 800x600 screen would be a good place to start :-) ;-)
Half of the current screen would be way too small.

Dunno how hard it would be though, isn't just a case of adding another viewport? (it's that easy in Blitz3D BTW), but everything would be twice as slow? A Quadruple split would be impossible I think (like GoldenEye, Halo etc) unless the resolution was much higher.

I say all this now because it could be used for single player games too (If you could change the viewport sizes in the GIC). If the top screen was only 2 elements high and the bottom was 20, you could use it to debug off-screen CEs, or cool custom dashboards etc.
Post Reply