Element info text

Got a cool idea that should be in R'n'D? Let's hear it!

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

Post Reply
User avatar
Eizzoux
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Element info text

Post by Eizzoux »

Just a little idea that, hopefully, could be possible in new updates. Since recently music, credits and levelset info screens got some reinforcement, I feel like element info screen should get some updates as well. For example, fitting more than two lines for info. I'm currently updating element descriptions in RF to have a bit more info than usual, but the problem is that even if I use small font, the game will still keep it at two lines, it's hardcoded to have rather one or two lines.

skfbkdsf.png
skfbkdsf.png (327.3 KiB) Viewed 3205 times


Also, I feel like there's no way of spacing out elements from each other on element info screen, because none of the lines that would possibly be related to that seem to work. One more thing: possibly, changing tile size of elements?
𒈟
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 4073
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Element info text

Post by Holger »

I have added some support for better customizability of the game elements info screen this weekend, ad follows:

Code: Select all

    added support for menu list entry size for game elements info screen
    
    This commit adds support for using the following three graphics
    configuration options to customize the available size (height),
    spacing between lines of text and spacing between list entries
    for the list of game element graphics and descriptions on the
    game elements info screen:
    
    * menu.list_entry_size.INFO[ELEMENTS] - available height for text
    * menu.line_spacing.INFO[ELEMENTS]    - space between lines of text
    * menu.extra_spacing.INFO[ELEMENTS]   - space between list entries
One more thing: possibly, changing tile size of elements?
This is not supported yet, but I also though about if and how this could be possible.
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 4073
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Element info text

Post by Holger »

One more thing: possibly, changing tile size of elements?
This is not supported yet, but I also though about if and how this could be possible.
OK, once I had the list entry size stuff, also customizing game element graphics on the elements info screen wasn't that hard:

Code: Select all

    added support for tile size for game elements info screen
    
    This adds support for the following two graphics configuration options
    to customize the element tile size and the space between element
    graphic and element description on the game elements info screen:
    
    * menu.tile_size.INFO[ELEMENTS]      - tile size of element graphics
    * menu.middle_spacing.INFO[ELEMENTS] - space between element and text
    
    Supported tile sizes are game tile size as defined by "game.tile_size"
    and the usual standard tile sizes 32, 16, 8 and 4 pixels.
Please note the limitations in supported tile sizes as stated above.

Hope that helps! :)

Update: Hm, probably it does not help in this case, as the MM engine does not support other tile sizes than 32x32 if I remember correctly. Not sure how much effort it would be to support user-defined tile sizes in this engine. Another solution would be to support different tile sizes on the elements info screen that could be defined independently from them game tile size...
User avatar
Eizzoux
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

About tile sizes

Post by Eizzoux »

Speaking of tile sizes, remember a while ago I reported to you a bug where if you manually change editor zoom level to be an unsupported number it will mess up the sprites, which you then fixed by cardcoding a cap for that setting? Well, this kinda applies to 'editor.drawingarea.tile_size' as well (the properties element input boxes), which, I guess isn't that much of an issue in this case, since it's not a general game setting, but a levelset exclusive attribute which nobody will intentionally use in such state anyways.
𒈟
Post Reply