very slow bug

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

very slow bug

Post by Sascha » Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:16 pm







Set player speed to: VERY SLOW!

Let's bet, you'll finnish that levels without to die?
Image

User avatar
RAP
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by RAP » Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:27 pm

Yeah, I finshed the level with the player very slow and mostly everytime you
move, the robots follow you really near to you.

BTW: Why did you post this even when you/I solve the test level? :?

User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Post by Martijn » Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:27 pm

Huh? Is it possible to adjust the speed in the new 3.2.0 then? How can I do that? Sounds great! I will immediately set it at the fast speed I always used to play Supaplex with!
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:13 pm

Martijn wrote:Huh? Is it possible to adjust the speed in the new 3.2.0 then? How can I do that?
Yes, that's a new feature:
Click in the level creator on the player and then click
on the "?".
There's a list of speeds from "frozen" (I don't know, what use that has)
to "ultrafast".
:wink: suuupa!
Image

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:16 pm

="Ryan P."Why did you post this even when you/I solve the test level?
Because I want to tell the
publicity about this bug (???)!
Image

User avatar
Jannik
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jannik » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:44 pm

I don't think it's a bug. :roll:
Robots can't step into a tile where the player is moving.
Robots can only attack the player when he stops moving.

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 pm

that could be too.
but can't you ajust in the
player actions:
() block last field
?
Image

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3330
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:41 pm

This is intended behaviour if you set "block last field" to "unchecked". If you don't want it (which is probably always the case when the player is slower than "normal speed", set "block last field" to "checked".

> Huh? Is it possible to adjust the speed in the new 3.2.0 then?

Yep, already since a few pre-release versions. :-)

> There's a list of speeds from "frozen" (I don't know, what use that has)
> to "ultrafast".

Besides for orthogonality reasons, "frozen" may have some useful cases: You can set (and reset) the player speed by using CE actions -- imagine a special CE that causes the player to be frozen for a few seconds etc...

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Tue Jul 18, 2006 3:46 pm

Then robots are harmless if you
continous move and don't stop?
Image

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3330
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:38 pm

> Then robots are harmless if you continous move and don't stop?

Yup, exactly! That's an old paradigm from original Emerald Mine. (As long as you do not move towards a robot, of course. ;-) )

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:38 am

:lol: funny!
Image

Post Reply