Music problems...

Stuck at a level? Need help with R'n'D or anything R'n'D related? Post here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
Yoshi348
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:27 pm
Location: My own little world (California)

Music problems...

Post by Yoshi348 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:22 am

Okay, I set a music to play during the main screen. Now, I can't figure out how to get it to STOP playing during gameplay. A cursory examination of the source only gave me the idea of adding a "background.PLAYING [NONE]" line, which didn't work.

Yoshi348
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:27 pm
Location: My own little world (California)

Post by Yoshi348 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 pm

Update: I managed to solve the problem by changing all the [NONE]s (except for just plain background) to a sort of "null" wav file (specifically empty.wav from the game itself). Still, this may or may not be considered a bug.

EDIT: Strike that. I knew empty.wav wasn't REALLY empty, but I thought I could use a .mode_loop: false to stop it from playing forever. Unfortunately, now that I played again, I realized that didn't work. And using a REAL empty.wav file I made (don't ask me why Windows can right click to make new .wav files when I don't even have a .wav editor) gives the same results as [NONE].

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Music problems...

Post by Zomis » Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:18 pm

Yoshi348 wrote:Okay, I set a music to play during the main screen. Now, I can't figure out how to get it to STOP playing during gameplay. A cursory examination of the source only gave me the idea of adding a "background.PLAYING [NONE]" line, which didn't work.
Try adding a ":" between PLAYING and [NONE]

Yoshi348
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:27 pm
Location: My own little world (California)

Post by Yoshi348 » Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:24 pm

Oh, I did, I just forgot to put it when I posted it here. ;^_^

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:27 am

> Still, this may or may not be considered a bug.

I still have to check this, but if it's indeed like you described (which I don't doubt), it should be considered a bug (and should be fixed). Thanks for reporting that behaviour!

Alaska-Wolf-Joe
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:58 pm
Location: Lower-Saxony

Post by Alaska-Wolf-Joe » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:32 pm

Hello,

actually I´m looking in this thread, cause I´m working on the same problem with the same no-succes than Yoshi348. I composed a (mp3) music-tune for the title-screen of my Levelset, that don´t stops playing while the Level starts with its own sound.
Is there meanwhile a solution avaiabble?

Greetings

Alaska-Wolf-Joe

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:21 pm

As this is a 3 year old thread, I feel like I must ask you if you use the latest version (3.2.3)?

But it wouldn't suprise me, unfortunately, if this bug hasn't been fixed.
However, it wouldn't suprise me if it actually has been fixed either...

Alaska-Wolf-Joe
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:58 pm
Location: Lower-Saxony

Post by Alaska-Wolf-Joe » Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:19 pm

Hello Zomis,

yes I use a actuell Version 3.2.2. I found this thread using the search-function, cause I hoped that someone found already a solution for the problem. Do you have an idea?

Greetings

Alaska-Wolf-Joe

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:36 pm

Alaska-Wolf-Joe wrote:yes I use a actuell Version 3.2.2
It's 3.2.3 that is the latest. But I don't think this bug was fixed in that version anyway.

The only idea I have now is to remind Holger to fix this bug (which will be done in the moment he reads this thread again), which apparently hasn't been fixed :shock:

Post Reply