Blocked

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

Blocked

Post by richard » Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:31 pm

Change if blocked, means for me, that an element changes, if it doesn´t move further, if his ways are closed. But as I see, "change if blocked" makes nothing.

For example a water drop - CE, that explodes, if it reaches the ground, EVEN, if it get placed directly one field over the ground (that "change if hitting something" can´t help more).

And the "blocked" function seems to me a bug, since I can´t detect when it is blocked !

Flumminator
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:08 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Flumminator » Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:47 pm

As I see it "blocked" means that it previously moved and then gets blocked...

richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

Post by richard » Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:55 pm

That´s a bit too less for it´s mean... I think effect "blocked" should arrive, if a CE can´t move any more. Like if a CE, that can only move left, and collides or gets placed next to the blocking element, changes.

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:29 am

richard wrote:That´s a bit too less for it´s mean... I think effect "blocked" should arrive, if a CE can´t move any more. Like if a CE, that can only move left, and collides or gets placed next to the blocking element, changes.
Maybe you already know this, but note that the side parameter works here..
I'm not sure at all how blocking works in reality (well, in RND :P) and how it is intended to work...I guess you can write a 8-paper essay about this ;)

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:21 am

hmm...after testing around with the blocked change condition, I still haven't got any element to change with this. Has anyone else succeed?
Holger, how does this really work? (or not)

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:14 am

Richard:
> Change if blocked, means for me, that an element changes, if it doesn´t move further, if his
> ways are closed. But as I see, "change if blocked" makes nothing.
[...]
> And the "blocked" function seems to me a bug, since I can´t detect when it is blocked !

Richard, you are perfectly right! Sorry for that -- this is still experimental and available in the level editor just by accident (and commented out in game.c, because it does not work yet).

Flumminator:
> As I see it "blocked" means that it previously moved and then gets blocked...

Well, that would be more like "change when hitting something".

"change when blocked" should trigger a CE change in a case where a movable CE would like to move, but cannot move because of being blocked (like Richard described). So it would also change when it has never moved before because of that blocking, which makes it different to "change when hitting". This "change when blocking" could still be needed for quite some situations, like shooting when the projectile cannot move right from the start, so "hitting" would not work...

richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

Post by richard » Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:28 am

So could you please implent that (soon), Holger ? And could you also tell a version for it ? :D

Flumminator
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:08 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Flumminator » Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:55 am

Holger wrote: Flumminator:
> As I see it "blocked" means that it previously moved and then gets blocked...

Well, that would be more like "change when hitting something".
ooops. that indeed was what i was thinking of....
just thought it was named "blocked" though :?

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Thu Jun 24, 2004 8:38 am

> So could you please implent that (soon), Holger ?

It is on my TODO list.

> And could you also tell a version for it ?

Other than the general roadmap, I better don't promise version numbers for certain features. ;-)

Post Reply