supaplex scissors: don't get killed

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Post by Martijn » Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:27 pm

I changed it to the new snik snaks, but it doesn't work in this level!

Go here:

http://zomis.xplorer.nu/rnd/download.php?id=193

and see it!
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!

DiPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Post by DiPal » Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:02 am

Hi, People!

I can tell where bug is.
In init.h we see:

#define setMoveIntoAcidProperty(l, e, v) \
(setBitfieldProperty(&(l)->can_move_into_acid_bits, \
EP_CAN_MOVE_INTO_ACID, e, v))
#define getMoveIntoAcidProperty(l, e) \
(getBitfieldProperty(&(l)->can_move_into_acid_bits, \
EP_CAN_MOVE_INTO_ACID, e))
#define setDontCollideWithProperty(l, e, v) \
(setBitfieldProperty(&(l)->can_move_into_acid_bits, \
EP_DONT_COLLIDE_WITH, e, v))
#define getDontCollideWithProperty(l, e) \
(getBitfieldProperty(&(l)->can_move_into_acid_bits, \
EP_DONT_COLLIDE_WITH, e))

So bug is solvable by replacing can_move_into_acid_bits with dont_collide_with_bits.

User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Post by Martijn » Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:00 pm

I don't really understand that. But it has to work if you do it in the game.

Something else:

The original supaplex in RnD is improved, because the snik snaks and electrons bite you.

But the extra supaplex levels aren't! Maybe it can be done, like it was done in the original levelset.
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:05 pm

Martijn wrote:But the extra supaplex levels aren't! Maybe it can be done, like it was done in the original levelset.
They probably need to be reconverted...Holger?

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3231
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:27 pm

> I can tell where bug is.
> In init.h we see:
[...]
> So bug is solvable by replacing can_move_into_acid_bits with dont_collide_with_bits.

Perfectly right -- what a stupid bug (I probably have copied that and then not correctly replaced all variable names :-O ).

Thanks _A LOT_, DiPal, for finding this bug which I probably wouldn't have found for quite some time... :-o

> They probably need to be reconverted...Holger?

Yes, you're right.

User avatar
bojster
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by bojster » Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:51 pm

Everything's fine when you use the original level files, though.

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3231
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:29 pm

> Everything's fine when you use the original level files, though.

Jup, right. In fact, when I wrote "reconverting", I thought "repackaging with the original SP levelset files", but for most people this is the same as "reconverting", so I wrote that... ;-)

Those who read my explanation how to use original SP files don't have to wait for that, of course, but can just start by themselves... :-)

Post Reply