No speed delay for maze runner and maze hunter style

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

No speed delay for maze runner and maze hunter style

Post by richard » Mon Jul 19, 2004 5:02 pm

There is a problem by maze runner and maze hunter styles.
You can´t set a move delay !

Maybe you have forgot that, or couldn´t insert that, for some special reasons. But maybe you could, Holger, fix that ??? :D

User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan » Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:58 am

Yep, this is needed.

With the current mazehunter you can easily evade it by simply moving in diagonals...... it can't catch up!

Yoshi348
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:27 pm
Location: My own little world (California)

Post by Yoshi348 » Tue Jul 20, 2004 5:48 pm

Alan wrote:With the current mazehunter you can easily evade it by simply moving in diagonals...... it can't catch up!
True, but in an actual maze there aren't very many places where you can move in a diagonal.

richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

Post by richard » Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:34 pm

Well, I use maze hunter for example to hunt the player effective ! And if the CE has to move fast (and not normal) it looks a bit weird. So a normal moving, player hunting CE would be perfect.

And I don´t make any mazes, they aren´t that good. Well... are they ?

Anyways Alan is completely right ! That is also my problem I am currently having ! :wink:

User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan » Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:26 am

True, but in an actual maze there aren't very many places where you can move in a diagonal.
I suppose so..... after all it is called the "maze hunter".
And I don´t make any mazes, they aren´t that good. Well... are they ?
I'm also not a big fan of maze levels.
And as Richard says (and I agree), if the MH didn't stop on every turn then it would be perfect.

But I can imagine Holger left it out for a reason.. Mayby this is the fastest it goes because it's doing lots of checking?

You can tell I'm working with the MH at the moment can't you? :wink:

richard
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:00 pm

Post by richard » Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:56 pm

Hm well, I think too that Holger has made that extra so. But maybe he can fix this with more time.

Cause somehow it´s like this:

very slow: 32
slow: 16
normal: 8
fast: 4
very fast: 2

Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:45 am

Alan wrote:But I can imagine Holger left it out for a reason.. Mayby this is the fastest it goes because it's doing lots of checking?
I've also thought it was because of that, but I'm honestly not sure. With today's computer speeds and algorithms, it mustn't take so long...
With the A* algorithm, the EXACT way to the player (every step) could be calculated within 10ms on a 64*64 level I guess. Unfortunately, this specific algorithm requires some extra memory..

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3231
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:02 pm

Argh. This is plain and simply a bug.

Some may remember the experimental "maze runner" element in some pre-release version (which was removed later again) -- the CE functionality was directly taken from that element. Unfortunately, as this was not a CE, it had a fixed move delay value, and I just forgot to extend this to use the usual configurable CE move delay value. :-(

I've just fixed that bug, and ensured that previous (old) levels stay unaffected by this change (and still use the fixed value instead, even if the config value was set to zero or any other value).

Post Reply