DC style dynamite or change EM style dynamite behaviour

Got a cool idea that should be in R'n'D? Let's hear it!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

DC style dynamite or change EM style dynamite behaviour

Post by Davacardo » Sat Apr 12, 2008 10:10 pm

I noticed this when I was trying to recreate a DC level in RnD.
If you place a sequence a of RnD style dynamite, and one of them is a hit by an explosion, they will all in turn, chain explode. Likewise if you place a series of EM style dynamite when using the RnD engine.

But when you do it again using the EM engine, they don't chain explode. Dyanmite in DC doesn't chain explode either. Could we please have DC style dynamite, or else change the behaviour for EM style dynamite when using the RnD engine?

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:15 pm

You are perfectly right -- I simply oversaw this behaviour of EM style dynamite (which should behave the same for EM and DC style levels)! :-o

I added a switch "[ ] explodes with chain reaction" to the "Config" tab of EM style dynamite in the level editor, using "[x]" ("on") for previous levels (to not break existing levels using EM style dynamite"), but using the default setting "[ ]" ("off") for all newly created levels (so that you get correct EM/DC style behaviour when using EM dynamite in new levels using the R'n'D game engine, without having to manually configure it for the correct behaviour).

The described fix for this bug (I think it's indeed a bug) will be available in the next version.

I'm afraid there are more of such inconsistencies with EM style elements when either used in the R'n'D or the EM engine... :-/

User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Davacardo » Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:13 pm

Thank you!

(Any idea when the next RnD version might be released?)

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:10 am

> (Any idea when the next RnD version might be released?)

Can't say at the moment. It's nearly ready for release since autumn last year and only needs very few bugs fixed, but since the birth of my son I nearly had no time to do some R'n'D programming anymore! :-o

I expect it to be released this summer anyway, but I don't want to promise anything. :-/

User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Davacardo » Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:51 am

I did have an afterthought that it may have been simpler to leave EM style dynamite as it is, and add DC style dynamite, which didn't chain explode. But I dunno how this is programmed, so it might not be. Never mind. It'd be awesome to learn more C++ and possibly try to help, but the unit I just completed didn't teach us anything more advanced than enums, arrays and structs. Still got another 2.5 years to go yet.
Holger wrote: I expect it to be released this summer anyway, but I don't want to promise anything. :-/
Down here in Australia, it's winter. I can't wait another 6 months! :D Heh heh, joking. I guess you mean summer in the northern hemisphere?

I hope everything's going OK for you with your son!

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:00 pm

Davacardo wrote:Never mind. It'd be awesome to learn more C++ and possibly try to help, but the unit I just completed didn't teach us anything more advanced than enums, arrays and structs. Still got another 2.5 years to go yet.
Remember that R'n'D is written in C, not C++, so you wouldn't have to know all about C++. :)

User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Davacardo » Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:14 pm

Really? I'll have to get my uni to change their course content then.

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:49 pm

There's nothing wrong with learning C++, though. It should teach you most of what you would need to know about C.

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:11 pm

> I did have an afterthought that it may have been simpler to leave EM style
> dynamite as it is, and add DC style dynamite, which didn't chain explode.

Yes, this would also have solved it, but I wanted EM style dynamite to behave the same in the EM engine and the R'n'D engine, so the new default seems to be better.

> Down here in Australia, it's winter. I can't wait another 6 months!

Oops! :-D

No, I don't think you have to! ;-)

> I guess you mean summer in the northern hemisphere?

Yes, of course -- sorry for my ignorance! Although I've already been in the southern hemisphere before (enjoying spring there when it was autumn at home), I just didn't think about it at the moment I wrote the above! :-o ;-)

> I hope everything's going OK for you with your son!

Thank you, yes! Everything's as fine as can be! :-)

User avatar
Davacardo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Davacardo » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:28 am

Holger wrote: I added a switch "[ ] explodes with chain reaction" to the "Config" tab of EM style dynamite in the level editor, using "[x]" ("on") for previous levels (to not break existing levels using EM style dynamite"), but using the default setting "[ ]" ("off") for all newly created levels (so that you get correct EM/DC style behaviour when using EM dynamite in new levels using the R'n'D game engine, without having to manually configure it for the correct behaviour).
Hate to drag this up again. I've been playing some DC2 levels recently. You mentioned that leaving chain-explodable on to not break existing levels. Does this mean (obviously existing) DC2 levels will still have chain-exploding dynamite? Is there a way to detect if a level is DC2 or otherwise, and set the option appropriately? Changing the options of hundreds of levels could get a bit tedious.

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3225
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:34 am

> Does this mean (obviously existing) DC2 levels will still have
> chain-exploding dynamite? Is there a way to detect if a level is DC2 or
> otherwise, and set the option appropriately?

Yep, right -- good point! This depends on the type of DC2 level. If it's a DC2 level converted to R'n'D, it would need changing (or re-converting). As far as I know, there are no such DC2 levels, but only original DC2 levels which are directly read from R'n'D. These on-the-fly converted, original levels are always converted to the latest version of the game engine, which means that they will contain the fix I described above. Therefore, just starting to play those DC2 levels with the upcoming new R'n'D version would fix it all! :-)

dave
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:06 am
Contact:

Post by dave » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:13 am

Holger wrote:I added a switch "[ ] explodes with chain reaction" to the "Config" tab of EM style dynamite in the level editor, using "[x]" ("on") for previous levels (to not break existing levels using EM style dynamite"),
why complicate things when you dont care about compatibility with emerald mine?
Holger wrote:I'm afraid there are more of such inconsistencies with EM style elements when either used in the R'n'D or the EM engine... :-/
yeah but you have said you arent aiming for emerald mine compatibility.

dave

Post Reply