Newbie help please!

All about creating levels and level sets, custom elements and custom artwork.

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

User avatar
Lee Brewer
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:53 am
Contact:

newbie help please!

Post by Lee Brewer »

You said:
The default level is generated internally!
There is no default level on the disk.
If you want it on the disk just save the empty level in the editor.
I am not sure how to do this.
When I start R&D, the levels that I made can be accessed by going to the LEVELS option and scrolling down to "LEEBREWER" (and, of course, selecting this set).

Unlike other sets, such as BD2K3, LEEBREWER does not have its own folder in the LEVELS directory. Here is a link to a pic of my directory:

http://home.earthlink.net/~lbrewer42/im ... ectory.jpg

As you can see, if I wanted to copy BD2K3 - all I would need do is to copy/paste (or drag - whatever). However, LEEBREWER is nowhere to be found. So how do I copy LEEBREWER?
This LEVELS folder would indicate there is no such set of levels - and yet I made/play them :?:
Lee

WWII was fought against fascism, communism, and socialism - so what happened? "Sorry" to vets just does not cover it.
User avatar
Jannik
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jannik »

Hi Lee!

Isn't there a special users directory on Mac OS, like:
\Users\%username%\

Then I think your own levels should be in a folder like:
\Users\%username%\Rocks'n'Diamonds\levels\%username%\

If you still can't find it, I suggest to make a spotlight search on the whole HDD for "levelinfo.conf". Every levelset requires this file, then you can have a look at the folders, if one is different from
\Program Files\Rocks'n'Diamonds\levels\*\

If you want to create a new levelset, I suggest to create a new folder and a new levelinfo.conf, like this:
\Program Files\Rocks'n'Diamonds\levels\mylevelset\levelinfo.conf

You can either copy another levelinfo.conf and edit it or create a new text file with this content:

Code: Select all

file_identifier: ROCKSNDIAMONDS_LEVELINFO_FILE_VERSION_3.2

name: mylevelset
author: Lee Brewer

levels: 100
first_level: 1
readonly: false
Then just open this levelset in RnD and there will be 100 empty levels ...
User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan »

I am not sure how to do this.
When I start R&D, the levels that I made can be accessed by going to the LEVELS option and scrolling down to "LEEBREWER" (and, of course, selecting this set).
Unlike other sets, such as BD2K3, LEEBREWER does not have its own folder in the LEVELS directory. Here is a link to a pic of my directory:


New levels made with R&D (with your name) aren't created in the R&D Level's folder. In windows they are made in:- "My Documents\RocksNDiamonds\Levels"

I don't know what the equivalent to "My Docs" is on OS X, but you'll find them there.
User avatar
Martijn
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 10:54 am
Location: the Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Post by Martijn »

Why don't you remove your whole Rocks 'n' Diamonds directory, after you've backupped it and then use the Mac OS X search and search for *.level.

But first have a final look to be 100 % sure that your levels aren't saved in the RnD folder itself in Mac OS X!
Visit my Boulder Dash website at:
http://www.bd-fans.com

Watch my avatar! That orange little thing is Murphy, the Supaplex star!
Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. »

OK, I'm not enthusiastc about adding another idea to this pile of ideas, but I probably wouldn't if I didn't think that this is a good idea ( :wink: ):

Do a Spotlight search for setup.conf. This file is ONLY stored in the Documents directory. levelsetup.conf should work as well.
User avatar
Lee Brewer
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:53 am
Contact:

newbie help please!

Post by Lee Brewer »

Well - I have tried all of the above and there is nothing there! When I did the search I even opened all (over a hundred!) files to try to locate one that did not have a name in it which appears in my list of levels.

I DID notice that one of the readme files says

The Level Editor
================
To create your own levels, it's a good idea to start with your personal
level series, which has been created automatically the first time you
started the game (together with some configuration files). These personal
files are stored in '~/.rocksndiamonds' on Unix systems and in 'userdata'
in the current playing directory (which normally is the game directory)
on DOS/Windows systems.

The levels that come with the game are normally read-only, to avoid
problems on multi user systems, but you can set them to 'writable' in
the file 'levelinfo.conf' ('lvlinfo.cnf' on DOS systems) in each level
directory.
So I did a search for userdata and found only a file for the game called Zuma - which was installed. However, I checked it out anyway and there is nothing in this folder at all (I uninstalled Zuma not too long ago).

I did a search for ".rocksndiamonds" and nothing but a few files named rocksndiamonds appeared. Realizing that, in Unix, the '.' is a character meaning "anything here", I also ran one without the period as I do not know if Spotlight follows the UNIX rules or not. Still no results!

So am I imagining things here? Am I really NOT playing my levels when I think I am? They seem not to exist! :lol:

Lee
Lee

WWII was fought against fascism, communism, and socialism - so what happened? "Sorry" to vets just does not cover it.
User avatar
Lee Brewer
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:53 am
Contact:

newbie help please!

Post by Lee Brewer »

OK guys! Thanks for all the help. I emailed Holger directly. Here is his reply (for anyone else who needs to find their levels on their Mac):
You can find them in the directory
".rocksndiamonds" in your home directory. This is the Unix default
directory for application specific data, and I have treated Mac OS X
just like a "normal Unix" system so far... This is not a good value
for Mac OS X, as a folder is hidden by the Finder when it is starting
with a dot. :-o

To access your R'n'D levels, please do the following:
- open a shell (by executing the "Terminal" application)
- type "cd .rocksndiamonds"
- type "open ."

This opens a normal Finder window inside the R'n'D data directory.
You should now (besides some other files and folders) find a folder
"levels" and a folder "tapes" -- these are the levels and tapes that
you have created or recorded. Inside the "levels" folder, you should
now find your personal level folder named "LEEBREWER"!

I will change this bad default in the very next version of R'n'D,
and will instead use a new folder "Rocks'n'Diamonds" inside the
"Documents" folder in the user's home directory.

Sorry for the inconvenience I have caused by just doing things like
in Unix without realizing that this does not work well for the Mac
platform! As mentioned, this will be fixed in the next version.
So I now have my levels.

And I think this also explains why Spotlight did not find the .rocksndiamonds directory.


Actually, although Holger apologized for it, it does not bother me that the GUI cannot be used (at present) to access these levels. being able to use UNIX is something I have missed since the days of being in the Commodore AMIGA world.

Thanks again for all the help.

Lee
Lee

WWII was fought against fascism, communism, and socialism - so what happened? "Sorry" to vets just does not cover it.
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger »

Strange that Spotlight wasn't able to find the levels... :-o

This will be fixed in 3.2.1 (coming very soon), which will then use "~/Documents/Rocks'n'Diamonds" instead of the more "pure" Unix style "~/.rocksndiamonds", and will also move already existing, old Unix style R'n'D data directories to the new, easy to find location.
Tomi
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Tomi »

What about leaving the levels in "~/.rocksndiamonds" and making a symbolic link to it in "~/Documents/Rocks'n'Diamonds"? (I don't use Mac OS X, but AFAIK all Unixes support symbolic links, don't they?)
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger »

> What about leaving the levels in "~/.rocksndiamonds" and making a
> symbolic link to it in "~/Documents/Rocks'n'Diamonds"? (I don't use Mac
> OS X, but AFAIK all Unixes support symbolic links, don't they?)

This would also work, but I don't know if this will convince Spotlight to index the files (which are then still inside a "hidden" directory). Besides that, there should be no reason to access the files in two locations, and if you don't downgrade your R'n'D installation, you won't notice any difference, but will always easily find your own files with the new location. :-)
User avatar
Lee Brewer
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:53 am
Contact:

Newbie help please! Easy solution OS X Default levels solved

Post by Lee Brewer »

Hi All,
OK, after a little thinking I came up with an easy way to save the default set R&D makes. Since it is in the hidden directory .rocksndiamonds, do the following:
1. open terminal window
2. cp -R .rocksndiamonds ~/mylevels
3. close the terminal window

This makes a copy of your hidden directory as a normal directory named "mylevels." This new folder, "mylevels" shows up as a normal folder in a finder window (in your home directory). You can manipulate anything you want out of it from there.

When I updated the R&D version I had, I simply replaced the new, default .rocksndiamonds directory as such:
1. open terminal window
2. cp -R ~/mylevels .rocksndiamonds
3. close the terminal window

This copied my former levels from the older version into the default level of the new R&D.

Thanks again for all of the help!

Lee :D
Lee

WWII was fought against fascism, communism, and socialism - so what happened? "Sorry" to vets just does not cover it.
Post Reply