question about changing the background

Stuck at a level? Need help with R'n'D or anything R'n'D related? Post here!

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

Post Reply
User avatar
SLAPPYHAPPY2000
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:27 am

question about changing the background

Post by SLAPPYHAPPY2000 »

Yo, people,

It is I, SlappyHappy2000! Back from a bit of a hiatus with a question.
You know how BD2K3 had that cool thing that changed the background of the Title Screen?
I was wondering if it was possible to do that with other screens like the Info Screen, the Setup Screen, and the Levelset Select Screen?

Thanks for the help, people.
User avatar
SLAPPYHAPPY2000
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:27 am

Re: question about changing the background

Post by SLAPPYHAPPY2000 »

Uhh...

Think I got the Setup screen working on accident.
Wonder if I can do the same for the other screens.
Attachments
mmm setup
mmm setup
wow.PNG (218.42 KiB) Viewed 6886 times
User avatar
SLAPPYHAPPY2000
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:27 am

Re: question about changing the background

Post by SLAPPYHAPPY2000 »

And would you look at that, I actually managed to figure it out by myself. Haha, I should really think before I post a random request on the forum shouldn't I?

For any of those wondering HOW to do it, you just put these configurations into the .conf file for the graphics:

background.MAIN: something.png
background.SCORES: something.png
background.INFO: something.png
background.LEVELS: something.png
background.SETUP: something.png

...and it should work nicely!
The screen size for these background images are 548 pixels by 548 pixels.
Have a good day, everyone!
User avatar
Eizzoux
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Changing many backgrounds

Post by Eizzoux »

Yep, you can change backgrounds for many screens and instances, including:

Code: Select all

background				// all playfields at once
background.MAIN
background.NAMES			// name/team menu
background.LEVELS
background.LEVELNR			// the level list that shows up when you click on 'main.button.level_number' or 'main.text.level_number'
background.SCORES
background.EDITOR
background.INFO				// info screen and it's subscreens
background.INFO[TITLE]
background.INFO[ELEMENTS]
background.INFO[MUSIC]
background.INFO[CREDITS]
background.INFO[VERSION]
background.INFO[PROGRAM]
background.INFO[LEVELSET]
background.PLAYING
background.SETUP
background.envelope_1*			// backgrounds of envelope displays
background.envelope_2*
background.envelope_3*
background.envelope_4*
background.DOOR*			// backdrop of request instances (like "Do you really want to quit" - "Yes/No" or "Tape Saved" - "Dismiss")
background.PANEL*			// In-game interface in top door
background.TAPE*			// Tape box on the bottom right
background.PALETTE*			// Elements palette in editor
background.TOOLBOX*			// Tools panel in editor
background.request*			// backdrop of envelope-like request if 'global.use_envelope_request' is set to 'true'
background.TITLE			// Many instances of title screen event
background.[titlescreen]		// all Title screens at once
background.titlescreen_1
background.titlescreen_2
background.titlescreen_3
background.titlescreen_4
background.titlescreen_5
background.[titlemessage]		// all Title messages at once
background.titlemessage_1
background.titlemessage_2
background.titlemessage_3
background.titlemessage_4
background.titlemessage_5
background.TITLE_INITIAL		// Initial title screens are shown before normal title screens
background.[titlescreen_initial]	// and only play out on launch of the game
background.titlescreen_initial_1	// (basically, it does not appear when you start the levelset in LEVELS menu)
background.titlescreen_initial_2
background.titlescreen_initial_3
background.titlescreen_initial_4
background.titlescreen_initial_5
background.[titlemessage_initial]
background.titlemessage_initial_1
background.titlemessage_initial_2
background.titlemessage_initial_3
background.titlemessage_initial_4
background.titlemessage_initial_5

* - these backgrounds are not playfield backgrounds and don't count at parts of 'background: image.png' 
𒈟
User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 4073
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: question about changing the background

Post by Holger »

Thank you, Eizzoux, for helping out here! :-)
User avatar
SLAPPYHAPPY2000
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:27 am

Re: question about changing the background

Post by SLAPPYHAPPY2000 »

Yes, thank you Eizzoux very much! You're always a big help around here.
Though, I'm still curious on one thing: is it possible to set specific backgrounds WHILE you're playing a stage?
For example, Stage 001 has a specific background, and then Stage 002 has a different background, sort of like how you can configure the music.
I tried using the same method for the other backgrounds, but it doesn't seem to work... is there a different way or is this not a feature?
User avatar
Eizzoux
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: question about changing the background

Post by Eizzoux »

SLAPPYHAPPY2000 wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 6:23 pm Though, I'm still curious on one thing: is it possible to set specific backgrounds WHILE you're playing a stage?
For example, Stage 001 has a specific background, and then Stage 002 has a different background, sort of like how you can configure the music.
No, it's not possible to set specific backgrounds for each individual level, that's not programmed yet. And even more, the game isn't written to mask out the black space of playfield to be dynamically drawn over a fresh background anyways. It is possible to trick the game into drawing some things like gem or time counters "over" the game screen, but it's a little bit more complicated.
𒈟
Post Reply