Element names

All about creating levels and level sets, custom elements and custom artwork.

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

Post Reply
User avatar
eliasz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Element names

Post by eliasz »

Hi there!

I'm going to create a "backport" of some RnD elements into the classic EM style (since in my opinion it definitely beats the new style, not to mention the shiny primitives such as BD2K3). To write the graphic conf file I need a list of the elements and their states (like moving up). Is there such a list available? Otherwise it's hard to guess some of them (some may be found in other confs). Or perhaps there is a conf for the "classic graphics" (the default one)?
Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. »

Welcome to the Rocks'n'Diamonds forum, eliasz! :)

You can dump the "graphicsinfo.conf" file for the classic (default) graphics by using the following command:

Code: Select all

rocksndiamonds --execute "print graphicsinfo.conf"
If you are using Windows, you will first have to change to the Rocks'n'Diamonds program directory, and the output will be printed to the file "stdout.txt".
User avatar
eliasz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Post by eliasz »

Thanks for the hint. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to work :(
I'm using RnD 3.2.6.1 SDL (taken from Ubuntu 10.04 repo). There is no visible effect of the switch, it just runs the game without anything printed out
or any file being created. The same goes for trying to execute some rubbish (--execute "hhhh") -- no error message.

Am I using an older version?

EDIT: the executable seems to ignore any switches and arguments; BTW the man page describes the game UI and doesn't mention any switches
Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. »

You are using a slightly older version (the current version is 3.3.0.1), but that should not stop the switches from working.
I don't know why they aren't working...

For now, I have uploaded the default graphicsinfo.conf file for version 3.2.6.1. You can download it here.

(I also uploaded the default graphicsinfo.conf file for version 3.3.0.1.)
User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan »

I'm going to create a "backport" of some RnD elements into the classic EM style (since in my opinion it definitely beats the new style, not to mention the shiny primitives such as BD2K3)
It's funny. A year ago that comment would of really pissed me off. You have to love Prozac! :-D

Code: Select all

rocksndiamonds.exe --execute "print graphicsinfo.conf"
Works for me. The game shouldn't start btw.
uzer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:44 am

Post by uzer »

eliasz wrote: EDIT: the executable seems to ignore any switches and arguments; BTW the man page describes the game UI and doesn't mention any switches
On Ubuntu Rocks'n'Diamonds is started from /usr/games/rockndiamonds script, which executes real binary /usr/games/rockndiamonds-bin, unfortunelly there is omission in script (You can report bug) - commandline switches are not passed to binary.
As workaround the script (or its copy) can be edited, and fixed by adding space followed by "$@" at the end of 7-th line (exec... etc).
You can also directly run binary from commandline:
LEVEL_DIR=/usr/share/games/rocksndiamonds /usr/games/rocksndiamonds-bin --execute "print graphicsinfo.conf"
User avatar
eliasz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Post by eliasz »

@Daniel H. and Uzer: Thanks a lot for all the help, the extracted config is perfect and the suggested commandline works as well!

@Alan: sorry, I should have expressed myself more carefully. I was about 16 y.o. when saw the EM first time (having already played BD on atari) and it's still the best game I've ever played, so this is rather a sentiment towards the original low-resolution EM style than a objective comparison.
And certainly it's been a lot of good work with redrawing the elements with doubled resolution -- they look great and this is even more true for the new elements (e.g. pacman, pengiuin). The thing is that I just prefer some elements the old way (especially steel wall, normal wall, dirt and rock). To make these elements fit into the rest, I need to convert the rest into low res and fix some details. Certainly it's a kind of perversion but I guess all of us here are so ;)
User avatar
Alan
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by Alan »

No worries. You're a purist....I suppose everybody on this forum is one in one way or another. I think I've lost my way ;-)
Post Reply