where did Element Properties go?

Discussion around programming R'n'D, its source code and its tools.

Moderators: Flumminator, Zomis

filbo

where did Element Properties go?

Post by filbo »

I pulled latest changes from git, and now the '?' button in the editor just prints "::: zoom button pressed with mouse button 1" (or 2 or 3).

I see in the change log "moved element properties button in editor to more prominent position", but I don't see a new button -- quite un-prominent!

Graphics elements for the change not checked in yet maybe?
filbo

Re: where did Element Properties go?

Post by filbo »

("zoom button" is somewhat intriguing, but doesn't seem to actually do anything... ?)
Holger
Site Admin

Post by Holger »

Sorry, you're right -- the problem is, that the git repository really only contains the source code files, but not the game artwork. As I am relatively new to git, I'm not sure yet if it would be a good idea to add lots of binary file to the repository (even if they are relatively small), as I cannot oversee the long-term consequences at the moment (repository size over time, speed of changing branches, potential problems when merging branches, just to name a few potential headaches).

So for now, please find the changed graphic as attached.

Regarding the new "zoom" button: It's intended functionality is not yet implemented, but it should be used for zooming the level playfield in the editor, mainly to be able to get a quick overview over the level by using 8x8 or 4x4 tiles instead of 16x16 tiles (and maybe also the other direction, being able to edit the level using 32x32 tiles (or larger, if the artwork set supports it)).
Attachments
updated file "RocksDoor.png"
updated file "RocksDoor.png"
RocksDoor.png (19.08 KiB) Viewed 21477 times
Holger
Site Admin

Post by Holger »