Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
MateFizyChem
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:16 pm

Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Post by MateFizyChem » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:31 pm

Usually there is a wall around the level, unless you make your own border(for example to make the level borders not a rectangle).
However, you have to make a custom border in the Supaplex game engine because the game will not make a wall, so you can go out of bounds.

Anyway, here is the description:
Murphy starts out in the top-right corner tile of the graphical border(it is not a wall - it is not solid), if you go out of bounds to the right, you will come to the bounds from left, but 1 tile down(and you can go left, come from right and go 1 tile up). You can not go below* the graphical border and you can not go out of bounds to the right if you are at the bottom. However, it looks like you can go up indefinitely.
*You can go down with ports but then Murphy explodes.
Attachments
Screenshot_20180428_192538.png
Screenshot_20180428_192538.png (108.86 KiB) Viewed 462 times

User avatar
Eizzoux
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Post by Eizzoux » Tue May 01, 2018 10:40 am

I think it was supposed to be in this engine but it's not finished yet, not sure. Pretty same thing had been discussed for EM engine.
Nothing in here...*

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 2905
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Post by Holger » Thu May 03, 2018 5:43 pm

I think it was supposed to be in this engine but it's not finished yet, not sure.
It is/was supposed to be that way in the original Supaplex game engine, and it is indeed "finished", because the Supaplex game engine in R'n'D now behaves 100% exactly like the original/classic Supaplex game engine of the DOS version of the game.

This indeed includes being able to wrap around at the left or at the right border just as described (going one row up or down when re-entering the playfield on the other side), and it especially includes leaving the playfield also at the top and bottom border, then really leaving the game's playfield as defined in the level file, and entering bytes of DOS memory around the memory area of the playfield. To make this possible in R'n'D's Supaplex game engine, I've added a snapshot of the real DOS memory around the playfield, which contains apparently random (but in fact well-defined) bytes of memory.

Strange enough, there are indeed a few Supaplex levels that make use of this! Not all of these bytes can be entered by Murphy without killing him, but a few of these bytes, just by chance, are valid Supaplex game elements and can be used to create playable levels that require travelling into these bytes, colleting things to solve the level.

I will have a look if I can find some of these levels (including solutions), which can be used as a test for hardcore compatibility of Supaplex game engines. ;-)
Pretty same thing had been discussed for EM engine.
The classic EM/EMC game engine only allows this "dirty trick" horizontally, but this feature is not yet implemented in the current EM/EMC game engine in R'n'D.

MateFizyChem
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Post by MateFizyChem » Thu May 03, 2018 6:13 pm

Huh. Is the ability to cut through the graphical border also intentional(like in the attachement of the original post)?

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 2905
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Out of bounds without a custom border wall(Supaplex engine)

Post by Holger » Fri May 04, 2018 12:08 pm

As far as I can remember from my tests with the DOS version, yes!

When I have found those test level(s) mentioned above (that make use of this bug/feature), I will check this again with the original DOS engine.

Post Reply