4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting problems

Found a bug in R'n'D? Report it here!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
RAP
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 6:44 pm

4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting problems

Post by RAP » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:00 am

What the title says.

So I remembered that Rocks'n'Diamonds has an ability to play Diamond Caves 2 levelsets (when did that feature got added?) just by dropping the .dc2 file into the levelset folder and setting up the levelinfo.conf. I was about to play 'em mostly for even more idea gatherings, and to record tapes to prove that they're solvable. I encountered a problem in level 3, where there are R'n'D doors, and not EM doors, the former didn't exist back then!

I can't upload the Diamond Caves 2 levelset since it's too big to be uploaded to the forum, here's the Wayback Machine Archive.org link instead that works: https://web.archive.org/web/20040504015 ... nmine1.zip

I tested the bug on 4.0.0.0 as well.

Speaking on the topic of Diamond Caves 2, is there any chance of making playing those games emulate to that particular game (or at least in the style of the Emerald Mine engine? there are particular quirks that are unique to Diamond Caves 2 and 3 (and probably 1), such as pushing objects is random, and that you can collect gems while they fall while holding the snap button without any manual button-mash to grab!). To go any further, is there a chance of getting Diamond Caves 3 elements into R'n'D? I say that since you grabbed the elements from the second (and first game).

EDIT: The title was changed from "4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting renders grey doors as grey R'n'D doors, not grey EM doors" to reflect compatibility problems beyond just the grey doors problem in regards to the Diamond Caves 2 level interpretation.

I skimmed around a Diamond Caves 2 levelset (appears that it's for the first game due to this link: http://aminet.net/package/game/data/DC-slk - but this has 30 levels, while the .dc2 one is 50 levels? What? Link: https://web.archive.org/web/20030202031 ... ls/slk.zip )

Level 43, "Singing in the Rain", from the levelset "SLK", you have to go across the acid pool while amoeba drops rain from the ceiling, simple enough; unfortunately, the game is not solvable at all because the rain drops are too frequent, which means you can't go across the other side of the level and do stuff! This is an explicit example of the game interpreting the growth value of the amoeba incorrectly.

ellipirelli
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:37 am

Re: 4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting problems

Post by ellipirelli » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi, RAP,
(sorry for my bad English) here is a link to the elements from dc3, I have some descriptions on my PC (about dc 2 and dc 3), but I have to translate them at first, then I can post here.

http://www.diamond-pro.com/games/dc/help

The new elements have a special working, but I've got some solutions and new levels by a dc3-user 2 weeks ago and so I could have a look, how the elements really do working.
I have build a complete new dc3-graphics-set in the last months for RnD and sent to Holger, but it's not so easy for me to transform the needed properties for CE's, because RnD is in English and my Englisch is not good enough. I have to make a template level and new sounds too, then I can it post here.
greatings - ellipirelli :roll:

User avatar
RAP
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 6:44 pm

Re: 4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting problems

Post by RAP » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:03 pm

Hello ellipielli,

If you want even more reference material on how the elements in Diamond Caves 3 work if playing the game by yourself isn't enough or is too tedious, look no further than a let's play of that game, by YouTube user 'BeethroBudkin07', who plays both the Training levelset and the Emerald Caves levelset (unfortunately not the new custom levelsets made for Diamond Caves III that's not found anywhere else): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXBBWrE ... 6CYGDCrmcS

CEs are cool, but the reason why I suggested on having elements is that Holger implemented them in non-CE form, due to DC2 elements implemented 11 years ago in conjuction to the game having the ability to read Diamond Caves 2 levelsets: https://www.artsoft.org/2007/09/13/1-ro ... -released/ A big trouble on trying to replicate the elements in CE form would be the Mega-Bomb. Here's my attempt on implementing it in less than 10 minutes:
002.level
Mega-Bomb CE attempt (uses 2 CEs!)
(869 Bytes) Downloaded 51 times

Problem with it is how it applies on the CE Mega-Bomb to change upon both by impact and being hit by a rock. For that special explosion to happen, it would spawn 4 CEs at top, bottom, left, and right side within the 3x3 container, which would then immediately explode upon being spawned, and to do so, it has to use the 'Destructable' option, which forces elements that reside there to forcibly change into something else, no other option can be used. Sadly it doesn't work with elements that contain something (like a Wall With Emerald), or explodable elements that contain something (like a Bug), since the CE Mega-Bomb set explosion would forcibly take it's place.

ellipirelli
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:37 am

Re: 4.0.1.1 - Diamond Caves 2 levelset converting problems

Post by ellipirelli » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:54 pm

Hey, RAP,
it's not so easy for me to write in the forum and use all the possibilities here, my English is too bad. Can you send me your e-mail in "private messages"? I would send you my mail adress at first, but don't know, how to do it..... :cry:
Then I would send you my graphics for dc3 and you can see - for the explosion of the megabomb you only need 2 CE's. More per e-mail, if you want. I had made the graphics and than tested every single element, because I wish the same function like in the originally dc3.

Post Reply