Refresh R'n'D after changing sth.

Got a cool idea that should be in R'n'D? Let's hear it!

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

Post Reply
User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Refresh R'n'D after changing sth.

Post by Sascha » Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:29 pm

I think it's silly you always must quit R'n'D and
start again when you changed sth..
It would be nice there would be a button you must press and
R'n'D restarts again without closing the R'n'D window.
At one time I made a great level, I wanted to save
it of course but then I saw: This set is read only!!
I had to make a snapshot (only available at Linux, a photo of your desktop) and rebuild the level, I changed the levelinfo.conf for this level set, but it was too late.
Because of the KSnapShot I could rescue the level, but I had Windows the level was lost.
Last edited by Sascha on Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Zomis
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:27 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Zomis » Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:54 pm

Well... even though it was your first post in the Programmer's Corner, I had to move it to "New Ideas" since that's where it belongs.

I agree that it would be good to have any kind of refresh thing for this.

However, you can take snapshots in Windows as well. Press the "PrtSc"/"PrintScreen" key on your keyboard and use a program such as Paint to paste the image.
Or you can use a program like SnagIt to do it for you in a very simple way!

User avatar
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Holger » Mon Oct 16, 2006 4:07 pm

> At one time I made a great level, I wanted to save
> it of course but then I saw: This set is read only!!

You should have got a warning about that *before* you entered the level editor, so this would normally never happen.

Is there a way to get that "read only" warning only when trying to save a newly created level, but without getting this warning when entering the level editor? Then this would belong to the "bug reports" section...

BTW: What exactly did you do to get a "read only" set when creating your own levels?

User avatar
Sascha
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sascha » Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:10 pm

> BTW: What exactly did you do to get a "read only" set when creating your own levels?

I know, that sounds silly!
Some of my sets are "read only", but I don't know,
why. I *really* didn't adjust that.

(Ah, and is the "PrtSc"/"PrintScreen" key on
german keyboards the "Druck/S-Abf" key?)
Image

Post Reply