Limited Rocks and Diamonds port for PPC and PalmOS

Discussion about Rocks'n'Diamonds, Boulder Dash, Supaplex, Emerald Mine and any other BD hybrid.

Moderators: Zomis, Flumminator

DiPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Post by DiPal » Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:05 am

Update at http://paltch.at.tut.by/
In PPC version one action should mean one button press (I think).

CharlyV

Bug ?

Post by CharlyV » Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:09 pm

It seems last version have bug.
If i start RoNDi.exe i get RoNDi debug info:
" zip item not found "

The previous version doesn´t have this kind of message/bug.

Tested on iPAQ 5450 WM2003.


Regards,

CharlyV

DiPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Post by DiPal » Wed Dec 14, 2005 7:41 am

Sorry, there was a bug.
Today version should work.

CharlyV

Post by CharlyV » Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:10 am

DiPal wrote:Sorry, there was a bug.
Today version should work.
Now it works well.
Congratulation for your nice port !

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:43 am

i tried the new version of your port and the punching is now good thank you but now the sound slows the game down a whole lot when a monster is in the level.

DiPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Post by DiPal » Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:16 am

Try today update.
Check speed when sound is on.

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:24 am

Runs on Qtek 9100 (Windows Mobile 5), but only in vertical scree mode. When rotating the screen the game rotates properly, but doesn't re-scale to the horizontal screen mode.

Steffest

Post by Steffest » Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:51 pm

Wow,

MANY thanks for this, DiPal !!!
It runs great on my Ipaq 4150.

I used to play emerald mines on the pocket PC port of the UAE Amiga emulator, but this is much much much faster.

DiPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Post by DiPal » Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:44 am

Qtek 9100 user
I know about this issue. But now I have no free time till March'06.

Steffest
Nice to read this :D

All
Get last build from 1st Febuary 2006 at http://paltch.at.tut.by/ which runs much smoother with slower CPU usage.

gigo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:46 pm
Contact:

controls

Post by gigo » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:55 pm

I have PalmOne Zire 72s and i have the Date book button over Addres book, that means that i've organized the left and right controls vertically :(

R
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:22 am

Treo 600 problems

Post by R » Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:40 am

Hello DiPal,

Rondi is great. Ever since the Amiga I have looked for an Emerald Mines for every computer and device I ever owned, now it is on my Treo 600. Can you port it to microwave oven...? :)

I have two problems to report for the Treo 600...

First. the hard keys are locked out of their normal function, when a message from another application is displayed. This is a serious problem for the Treo because after pushing the "on" button, the phone displays a message that the user must press a special hard key to unlock the other keys and touchscreen. The hard key is blocked by Rondi, so the only way to unblock the phone is to reset it by unscrewing the stylus! The hard keys also cannot be used to work the Rondi menus, though this is not so serious because I can use the stylus.

Second, the hard keys are not reconfigurable in the game. The Treo has a 4-way keypad, which I use by instinct for left and right, and it is very hard to get used to doing something different! Many rockfords have died as a result... :(

Otherwise, great work!
Thanks!
R

Daniel H.
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Location: USA

Post by Daniel H. » Mon May 01, 2006 9:13 pm

I have been using RoNDi for a while. It's very fun! :D


I have a PalmOne Zire 21 and I have no Memo Pad or ToDo List buttons, so I cannot snap objects or drop dynamite. :(

One possible solution would be to make an option for the Date Book and Address Book buttons to be snap field and drop dynamite, respectively. Then I could control the player with the stylus.

Another idea would be to make an option so that when you tap the player, he drops dynamite, and when you tap a space next to the player, he snaps that space. That could be hard to work with though...

SlashEMc2k
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:31 pm

Post by SlashEMc2k » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:40 pm

DiPal wrote:Qtek 9100 user
I know about this issue. But now I have no free time till March'06.

Steffest
Nice to read this :D

All
Get last build from 1st Febuary 2006 at http://paltch.at.tut.by/ which runs much smoother with slower CPU usage.
Hehehe.. Now I have something to do at work. :D
I have a Windows Mobile 5 - Xda Exec
520mhz, 64mb Ram, 128mb flash lcd 480-640TFT

I have downloaded the latest version
but I keep getting the following errors popup on screen:
"Frame 126 has MDL_Other 743"
It happens every so often in game.

Also when the (screen/level) moves across the game slows down loads?

And I have the same problem as Qtek 9100 but I just turn the screen size the other way round and it works :)

But other than that this is great!
Thanks for the release it is great I can`t wait to see your next update ;)

pfalcon
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:21 pm

Post by pfalcon » Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:33 pm

DiPal,

Great port! Where source code for it can be found?

Thanks.

Xerner
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 12:53 pm

To slow on VGA

Post by Xerner » Mon May 14, 2007 12:57 pm

I tried running Rocks'n'Diamonds on FSC N560 with VGA-display,
but scrolling is to slow so RnD is not really playable on VGA.

Any hint or patch available to allow playing on VGA ?

Thanks
Xerner

Post Reply